Blast Unicorn – Van Halo

releases 01 April 2015 | Blast Unicorn is the joint project of touch guitarist Alexander Paul Dowerk and electronic musician Tobias Reber.

The band’s debut album “Van Halo” blends edgy eight string guitars with meticulously programmed drums and synths in a suite of quirky, delightfully disturbing and fiendishly complex compositions. Stylistically indebted to metal music and contemporary electronics but drawing just as much on pop clichees and the classic avant-gardes’s formal exuberance, each piece unfolds according to its own inner logic while sharing traits with various other tracks, thus creating an interconnected space of densely compressed themes and ideas.


Alexander Paul Dowerk
touch guitars U8 deluxe, acoustic guitar, clavinova, additional programming & synths, mouth (17)

Tobias Reber
synths, drum programming, samples, electronics, voice and lyrics (10)

Produced by Markus Reuter and Tobias Reber
Mixed by Benjamin Schäfer at Horus Sound, Hannover, Germany
Mastered by Lee Fletcher for Unsung Productions in Paignton, UK
Artwork and Design by Alexander Paul Dowerk

Alexander thanks Annika Blohm, Angela, Jana, Philip and Roland Dowerk, Martha Kusmisz, Lars Basczok, Lisa Hillebrand, Marian Gwozdz, Jaime McGill

Tobias thanks Samira, Simona, Selina, Françoise and Andreas. Special thanks to Markus, Benjamin, Lee and Bernhard for your wonderful contributions and generous help in creating this album.


Through this way you will receive official news related to Touch Guitars, the Touch Guitar Circle and its members.
We will send out a newsletter every two to three months.